New EMDR Definition

In the December 2009 Newsletter, EMDRIA’s Board of Directors released its updated Definition of EMDR. EMDRIA’s Definition of EMDR effects our requirements for EMDRIA Approved trainings, continuing education and more. As a result of the implications of this change, and the fact that EMDRIA is an EMDR authority, we feel it is important to share this new definition with the entire EMDR community. These changes mark the first updates to the EMDRIA Approved Clinical Definition of EMDR since 2003.

There are many opinions as to what the EMDR definition should consist of, and the new definition has been welcomed with open arms by some, and disliked by others. We welcome your feedback and comments — please share your thoughts with us!

This entry was posted in EMDR in Practice, EMDR News, EMDRIA Updates and tagged , by EMDR. Bookmark the permalink.

About EMDR

The EMDR International Association (EMDRIA) is a professional association where EMDR practitioners and EMDR researchers seek the highest standards for the clinical use of EMDR. EMDR is an accepted psychotherapy by leading mental health organizations throughout the world for the treatment of a variety of symptoms and conditions. This website provides information to the greater EMDR community including clinicians, researchers, and the public that our members serve.

2 thoughts on “New EMDR Definition

  1. I am c-ptsd. I am an expert to what goes on in the brain and gained many tools to use. I created a site to help others, and help others in person or online.
    I have had 9 sessions of emdr, soon after it was created in California, by Francine, and she then trained my therapist Uri Bergman.
    After the nine sessions, I immediately got a migraine that lasted for three days. I have had five years worth of trauma from ages three to seven in 1966 to 1971, in a foster type care home, everyday, which I had satanic accult abuse that also included prisoner of war and concentration type abuses included.
    I believe emdr is only good for a reoccuring event, that replays itself within a person, such a veteran, and only that portion of his ptsd, and rape, accidents and rape victims.
    Emdr is not beneficial to those who “do not” have reoccuring flashbacks from a long time of trauma.
    If I were to live to be 250 years old, I still wouldn’t open all the locked areas of my brain that contain memories not remembered, and emdr would only break down my immune system from going through weekly sessions, that would have to add up to five years, and I would be dead from pneumonia by constantly going through these three days of migraines per emdr session.
    I have had migraines as a child when the torture began to stop. It did keep happening until I was 13, because I was continually placed back in that home, but for lesser amounts of time, even lesser from ages of 11-13.
    These migraines from 11 to 17, were in no way as severe as the ones after emdr, but both were crippling. The ones during 11-17 lasted a day. During the time after the session they lasted three days with no relief, as the ones as a pre-teen to teenage years, gave some relief within the days span.
    I hope you take this information seriously, and follow the research of Apostolos P. Georgopoulos, MD, PhD, (more info on him : http://www.hospitalsoup.com/health-conditions/ptsd-disorder-ptsd-diagnosis
    where he has found the area of the brain is injured, and even see that differences from the most severe injuries to lesser injuries.
    Thank you for reading, as I will not shut up about what is wrong with therapy, I always knew the Doctor’s results, but he was the one to scientifically find it,,,,,,,amen, phew and finally.
    Newer diagnosis will come out of what he has found, and newer medications. Finally, phew, and ahhhhhh.
    All we need is to believe help is available that works. I always knew it would be available, and have always said, maybe not in my life time, but eventually, this doctor has risen my hope for those that come after me, to gain immediate results to the crippling devastation of c-ptsd, or ptsd that has a longer occurence of trauma.

Leave a Reply

