Army Psychologist Reveals Instructions to Misdiagnose PTSD

An article posted today by Salon.com reveals a tape recording on which a civilian psychologist working for the Army admits to a patient that he is under extreme pressure to misdiagnose PTSD in veterans.

“I will tell you something confidentially that I would have to deny if it were ever public. Not only myself, but all the clinicians up here are being pressured to not diagnose PTSD and diagnose anxiety disorder NOS [instead]. Unfortunately, yours has not been the only case … I and other [doctors] are under a lot of pressure to not diagnose PTSD. It’s not fair. I think it’s a horrible way to treat soldiers, but unfortunately, you know, now the V.A. is jumping on board, saying, ‘Well, these people don’t have PTSD,’ and stuff like that.”

He elaborated by explaining that Army medical boards were denying all of his PTSD diagnoses, claiming the veterans had not suffered a sufficient level of trauma to cause PTSD.

In addition, he admitted that the army was encouraging him to overlook brain injuries in his diagnosis. He claims that his superiors were aware of the significant number of veterans they were misdiagnosing, and told him that they were counting the number of brain injuries, but not diagnosing them because they had no plans to treat the injuries.

And this may not be an isolated incident. The article’s authors also interviewed an anonymous army psychiatrist in a different base, who makes similar claims.  These admissions add fuel to the fire that first ignited in 2008 when a psychologist working for the VA in Texas sent an email encouraging fellow mental health professionals to diagnose veterans with Adjustment Disorder rather than PTSD because the number of veterans seeking compensation was rising.

Read the full article here.

The implications of these accusations are considerable; if this is truly happening, then there could be thousands of undiagnosed victims who will not know true healing until this practice is abolished.

Do you have knowledge of this occuring?

This entry was posted in Psychology News and tagged , , , , by EMDR. Bookmark the permalink.

About EMDR

The EMDR International Association (EMDRIA) is a professional association where EMDR practitioners and EMDR researchers seek the highest standards for the clinical use of EMDR. EMDR is an accepted psychotherapy by leading mental health organizations throughout the world for the treatment of a variety of symptoms and conditions. This website provides information to the greater EMDR community including clinicians, researchers, and the public that our members serve.

One thought on “Army Psychologist Reveals Instructions to Misdiagnose PTSD

  1. This is happening to me as I speak. I am minutes away from going to yet another mental health session where I will be bringing my entire medical evaluation board file with me and hopefully be seen. I have been to 4 appointments this month where I was suppose to have my file reviewed and have PTSD put into my file for the medical board. On all 4 occasions this has not happened, just yesterday I had an appointment where I showed up, waited 30 minutes, then a E5 female shows up to the waiting room and says, “the doctor isn’t coming today and if it’s ok with you, or even if it’s not I will be handling you today.” I told her, “you are not a doctor, you have no buisness even talking to me about this, what is going on?” At this point she told me to deal with it so I left before I did something I would regret. I have another appointment today, hopefully the doctor shows up…..

    I have already been told to my face by a doctor at mental health that they will do everything possible to diagnose me with Adjustment Disorder because they dont like to diagnose PTSD because of the “stigma” that is is not curable and it is for my own good that they will fight me tooth and nail to not diagnose me with PTSD.

Leave a Reply

